1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

What Are the Three Theological Virtues?

Gifts of grace from God


The Three Theological Virtues
Web Gallery of Art/Public Domain

Unlike the cardinal virtues, which can be practiced by anyone, the theological virtues are gifts of grace from God, and the object of the virtues—what the practice of the virtue aims at—is God Himself.

The three theological virtues are faith, hope, and charity (or love).

Stay up to date on the latest Catholicism news and learn more about the Catholic Faith. Sign up for our free Catholicism newsletter today!

Catholicism by the Numbers
 What Are the Four Cardinal Virtues?
 What Are the Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church?
 What Are the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit?
 What Are the Seven Deadly Sins?
 What Are the Eight Beatitudes?
 What Are the Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.