1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

What Are the Four Cardinal Virtues?

The hinges of the moral life


The cardinal virtues are the four primary moral virtues. Unlike the theological virtues, which are gifts of God through grace, the cardinal virtues can be practiced by anyone.

The four cardinal virtues are prudence, justice, fortitude (or courage), and temperance (or moderation). You can find an in-depth discussion of each in The Cardinal Virtues.

Stay up to date on the latest Catholicism news and learn more about the Catholic Faith. Sign up for our free Catholicism newsletter today!

Catholicism by the Numbers
 What Are the Three Theological Virtues?
 What Are the Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church?
 What Are the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit?
 What Are the Seven Deadly Sins?
 What Are the Eight Beatitudes?
 What Are the Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit?
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Catholicism
  4. Catholic Beliefs & Teachings
  5. What Are the Four Cardinal Virtues?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.