1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Catholic Liturgical Calendar for Lent 2009

Liturgical Schedule for Lent 2009


Lent is a time of preparation for the death of Christ on Good Friday and His Resurrection on Easter Sunday. It is a period of 40 days of repentance, with prayer, fasting and abstinence, and Confession.

Lent begins on Ash Wednesday, 46 days before Easter Sunday. (For an explanation why Lent begins 46 days before Easter but is only 40 days long, see How Are the 40 Days of Lent Calculated?) For Eastern Rite Catholics, Lent begins two days earlier, on Clean Monday. The following is a list of the dates of the Sundays and major feast days that fall in Lent 2009.

Stay up to date on the latest Catholicism news and learn more about the Catholic Faith. Sign up for our free Catholicism newsletter today!

  • First Sunday of Lent (Sunday, March 1, 2009)
  • Second Sunday of Lent (Sunday, March 8, 2009)
  • Third Sunday of Lent (Sunday, March 15, 2009)
  • Feast of Saint Patrick (Tuesday, March 17, 2009)
  • Feast of Saint Joseph (Thursday, March 19, 2009)
  • Fifth Sunday of Lent (Passion Sunday) (Sunday, March 29, 2009)
  • Easter (Sunday, April 12, 2009)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.