1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Which are the Beatitudes?


Question: Which are the Beatitudes?
Answer: The Beatitudes are:
  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  2. Blessed are the meek, for they shall possess the land.
  3. Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  4. Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice, for they shall be filled.
  5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
  6. Blessed are the clean of heart, for they shall see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God.
  8. Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

This is Question 185 of the Baltimore Catechism, a work in the public domain.

Previous Question | Next Question

Return to the Baltimore Catechism:

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Catholicism
  4. Catholic Beliefs & Teachings
  5. Baltimore Catechism
  6. Which Are the Beatitudes? - Question 185 - Baltimore Catechism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.